Finding Your Creativity

by MitchellRichards

Heed my warning:  if I hear one more of my friends tell me they are “just not creative” I am going to slap them.

To say that you are not creative is smiting the very creative Creator Himself.  Just because you cannot paint on canvas and just because each word at the end of your sentences doesn’t rhyme, it does not make you un-creative.  Everyone is creative because everyone is made in the image of a Creator.  We have limited creativity (something that should never be limited) to mean a handful of skills and traits somepeople possess and others don’t.  So unless you want to get slapped the next time I see you, here are some helpful things that I have picked up on focusing in on my creativity.

Stop Watching TV – Granted, there are actually shows that spark my creativity, (i.e. LOST) those shows are few and far in between.  It is hard to create once the TV is on because even if it background noise to our life we are still using a part of brain to focus in on it.  In times where you normally leave the TV on, turn it off and see where your brain wanders.  Spend the time you used to watch TV in writing TV shows for yourself, or even just thinking about your own TV shows.  Use your imagination and write down your thoughts.

Drive A Different Route – Occasionally I will drive a different way to work just to throw off my habits.  Sometimes I will even take the country roads if I have some spare time.  Turn down the radio and talk to yourself when you drive.  Sing songs to yourself with no music and the windows down.  Take the long way home and put your hand out the window and play airplane in the breeze.  But by simply taking a different route somewhere it will throw off your routine and your mind with spark at the different scenes in your eyes.

Go Outside – Get your friends together and have a picnic in the park.  Take a walk in the woods.  Enjoy the silent noise of the wind.  Listen to a child’s laughter at the playground.  The last few weeks I have set up a recliner in my garage and opened my garage door and it is where I have done all of my reading and writing since.  The fresh air and foreign noise will serve up some nice thoughts.

Plant A Garden

Carry A Notebook/Journal – The most important tool for the creative is a pen and paper.  It is one thing to have an idea but another thing to remember it.  While participating in activities where you are most creative make sure you have a pen and paper nearby.  If thoughts occur to you in the shower, invest in soap chalk.  I use a dry erase marker on my mirror in my bathroom for just such circumstances and I also have a notebook with me at all times.  You much take every idea captive as to not forget it.  Seeing the idea in your own handwriting creates a sense of urgency to getting the task done.

Indulge In Your Friend’s Creations – I love nothing more than seeing my friends be creative themselves.  Whether it is their art or I once had a friend tell me that after he read something that I wrote he began writing what had been transpiring in his life.  I have a few musical friends and I hate missing an opportunity to see them play their music live.  If you surround yourself with creative people you will notice that your creations will come to life more often.

Change Your Environment – Whether it is moving the furniture around in your apartment or taking a cooking class, once your eyes see something different your brain is stimulated in different ways.  Audit classes that make you think at your local college, go line dancing with friends, or do something else completely out of your comfort zone.

Play – Never be without toys and never be without someone to play with.  Games – sports – toys – anything to keep your mind in a childlike and fresh zone will help you produce creations.

Discover Your Personal Usefulness – Find and realize what you are good at and how you can be creative with those gifts.  If you like sports but are too old or washed-up to play, coach a local recreational team.  If you are good with your hands build something out of things in your garage and give it to a friend.  In the paradox of creativity, the most rewarding part of creating is giving it away for someone else to enjoy.

When God created the world it didn’t take His own creations long to screw it up.  It is our job to redeem the fall through creativity.

“The creative is the place where no one has ever been.  You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition.  What you’ll discover will be wonderful.  What you’ll discover is yourself.”  —Alan Ada

Discuss what stirs your creative juices by clicking the “Discussions” tab on the Mitchell Richards Word Facebook Fan sitehttp://tinyurl.com/ybbcusq.

