Veils and Moths

by MitchellRichards

The Bible has a few mentions that we, the Church, are the bride of Christ. Today I would like to talk about a more literal metaphor from traditional American weddings that may play into this idea of being the bride of Christ: the veil. The veil is apart of the bride’s dress, that piece of see-through material that covers the bride’s face until she is ready to lift it in front of her groom.

I have never worn a veil, but I do imagine it is somewhat hard to see in. I know it’s see through and all, but something tells me in obstructs the view and the peripherals. I assume that it is not like wearing a blindfold though, I understand that there is limited vision, but I suppose that it’s not something you just want to wear around all day. The wedding veil hides the face of the bride until the groom is ready for her.

Do you ever feel like there is something more to life than what you are actually seeing? Like maybe you are viewing life through a veil? Tat something is obstructing the entire existence? I feel like that way a lot, and I am beginning to think that the reason I feel this way is because I am not meant to see it. That maybe the reason I can’t see past the veil of my wedding dress is because I am not meant to, that I am wearing this veil for a reason. I am not saying that God hides things from us, I don’t think He is like that, but I think that God shows us things by not allowing us to see others. The veil is apart of the deal, the dress, and not understanding everything is apart of the veil.

Now, I believe that there are things in this life that we are not to understand, things that make zero sense and aren’t supposed to.

“Can a mortal ask questions that God finds unanswerable? Quite easily I would think; all nonsense questions are unanswerable. How many hours are there in a mile? Is yellow square or round? Probably half of the questions we ask, half of our great theological and metaphysical conundrums, to God are just like that.” –CS LEWIS

I think that life is hard because life is supposed to be hard. I don’t think we would be much of anywhere is life were able to be put into coast and we just lazily wandered down the road, taking naps at the wheel because our alignment is perfect and the road is straight. I don’t think that we are designed for ease or for comfort. It may be cliché, but I guess that things that don’t kill you actually make you stronger. It may take time to see it, and it may never make much sense, but I do believe it to be true. The things we want most in life should always be the things that bring us the most opportunity for pain. I’m not talking about buying new cars and new TVs, but what drives us in life? What s the thing that we have told ourselves we will do tomorrow for the last 1,000 yesterdays? What is the thing that we give up daily, but know that it is the only thing keeping us sane? For me, it’s writing. Before I started writing a lot more frequently a few years ago, I had a lot of issues with my temper and was a very frustrated person. The only way I ever felt a release from this stress was through writing; short stories, blogs, journaling, stuff about my spirituality, all of it would help to curb the stress in my life while being able to fill a certain creativity void. Ironically, the only thing that keeps my head level is the same thing that knocks it off it’s axis, in other words, I freak out and stress about wiring more than any other part of my life. The more and more I write, the less and less I make mistakes in life. The more and more I write, the less and less I worry about trivial things in the day to day. And somewhere in the shuffle, the days that I do not write I do not sleep, I get agitated and aggressive, and I don’t think straight.

What is your thing that you so desperately need to survive? As my friend Lanie once told me, today is your now or never. Like I have said, the things that will be most rewarding in our one shot at life are the things we have to fight for, the things we have to lose sleep over, the things that we have to break free of something else for. Like the moth in the cocoon, we can pray to God to have Him cut the cocoon open and let us out, but we will not be strong enough for the road ahead. So go ahead, pray and ask God for stuff and see what happens, see what prosperity may fall on you. But maybe try praying for a little rough patch every now and then, maybe pray for a little rain, a little storms. Pray to be confused and lost, because it is in the moments that we are lost that we discover that we are found. You cannot know the destination of life without first knowing everything that is not the destination. You cannot know what being found is until you know what the hopelessness of feeling lost is. You can’t fly without first squirming and wiggling out of your cocoon.

Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.

Buy my new book, “Definitive Blurs”.

