Sarchasm

by MitchellRichards


I tend to be a pretty sarcastic guy. It saves me from being a pretty vulgar guy, or a pretty perverted guy. I’m like a healthy blend of quite, mysterious, and sarcastic. Ask anyone. It’s a great way to meet new friends, specifically girls, though it tends to dull relationships down because I’m unreadable at times. Though, I have my moments where I am a very emotional guy as well. Stories of hope and grace make me cry often, songs with powerful lyrics do as well. Even the occasional romantic gesture in a chick flick can stir up some liquid salt around my eyes.

Why am I telling you this?

Good question. Because You don’t know me. No one knows me. I have this blessing/curse thing that a lot of people know who I am, but no one knows me. A friend and I were talking just tonight about how she was voted most likely to such and such when she was in high school. I don’t think I was voted anything. I was just your normal middle of the road kind of guy. Not too cool to be popular and not too nerdy to be a nerd. It was great because I fit in with everyone and I had a lot of friends and stuff, but still no one really knew me at all.

I’m also a good listener, and a good listener’s strongest power is to not talk so much. In other words, good listeners are poor communicators because we tend to go Dutch on conversations. This is getting somewhere, I promise.

Which leads to to another conversation from last night with my new buddy Paul. We play soccer together, and he was asking me about writing and stuff and how he was reading some of my blogs. The moment he brought it up, I sort of got terrified and clammed up. And my point is this: there is nothing on earth that I love doing more than writing, but I can’t even talk about it to my friends who seem interested. I would rather pitch my blog or my book to a complete stranger than to someone I know. I get nervous talking about the things I love. That is very odd. Even when people ask me what my hobbies are I respond with vague answers that don’t actually answer the question at hand.

It makes me wonder what else people don’t know about me, and I’m not talking abot how I hate pickles and mayonnaise (which I do), but big stuff. If I am able to hide the things I love from the people I love, then how do people view me? I’m just a good listener that cracks a “that’s what she said” joke every now and then. Even the people closest to me have no clue what I am all about.

But instead of giving you a download for a PowerPoint presentation of my life and the things I love, I think I am just going to start showing it more. I would ask you to do the same. What are your passions? What are the things that no one knows about you that are the things that make you come alive? For me, it’s writing. What is it for you?

It is my hope through this 30 day challenge that you discover not only a creative side of your life that needs exploring, but also a loving side of your life that needs expressing. How do I cross this chasm to bring the things I love to the people I love? It starts with action.

