To You.

by MitchellRichards

Last night, I got to attend a sneak peak of the movie Blue Like Jazz (in theaters April 13).  I have to admit that I was extremely geeked out o be able to see it.  The movie is based on the book of the same name by Donald Miller. (trailer at the end of post)

 

I’m a huge Don Miller fan and it would take a lot for me to not get behind anything he is apart of, and the film is no different.  I remember reading Blue Like Jazz for the first time years ago.  I remember buying it at a used bookstore in Texas and reading through it pretty quickly.  At that time, I was still kind of dabbling with my own writing and still trying to find my voice as a writer, and Blue Like Jazz inspired me quite a bit.

 

But even more so, it helped me realize that I’m not alone in feeling generally lost when it comes to my own spirituality and the importance for me to write about that.  I’ve had a lot of people tell me that they’ve connected with the way I write, and by that I assume they mean the way I rarely write definitively.  I write coming from a place of extreme uncertainty and with little hope of resolve.  I write like I don’t have it all together, because I don’t.

 

I’d like to say that my style of writing fits what many of us are going through as Christians.  You can take chunks of my writing and find themes of the different things I’m going through.  Right now, I’ve been writing about grace a lot because that’s what I need more than anything right now; grace is the thing I don’t understand the most about Jesus right now.

 

Seeing Blue Like Jazz last night transported me back to that time when I first read it and was very lost.  It also made me realize how far I’ve come in my faith and my writing, and even though I’m extremely hard on myself on both of those things, how successful I’ve become.  I’m very proud of where I am and where I will continue to go.  I am extremely thankful to you, the readers, for this as well.  You push me through rough spots and give me an audience to talk about what I think many of us are going through…

 

None of us have it all figured out and I hope none of these pretend to.  In the big picture, I’m just a crazy guy wandering through the woods, looking for Jesus, and talking to myself.  You all are just unfortunate enough to be within earshot of my own journey along the path of your own.  One day we will all meet up at the campfire and swap our stories and I’ll find my sanity.

 

This entry is just to say thanks for being around, for reading, and for telling your friends and sharing my writings.  I am forever grateful for that.  With school and a hundred other things going on right now, I’m not able to write and post as often, but I will never stop.  I love you, and thanks.

 

(And on a side note, the movie itself was really special.  Perhaps I am a little biast because of my Don Miller man crush, but in the same way the book opened u a conversation amongst Christians, a conversation that is still going on, the movie does too.  I urge you to see it.  It is not a Christian movie as much as it’s a movie (a wonderfully put together, professional movie) about a person finding out who they are.  Go see it April 13 and I’ll come with you.)


 

 

